Head of the Department


Head of the Department, Dr. Sci. Eng., Professor

Building 1, floor 3, office 304

The Department “Railway Stations and Junctions” was established in 1918 in the Kyiv Institute of National Economy. Its first head of the department was Professor M. S. Glikman. In 1927, the department as part of the Faculty of Railway Operation was transferred to the Kiev Polytechnic Institute. In the autumn of 1929, it was the major department of the newly created Kyiv Institute of Railways. In 1934, the department, together with the faculty, was transferred to the Kharkiv Institute of Railway Transport Engineers.

In the autumn of 1941, the department and the institute were evacuated to Tashkent, where it functioned until 1943 at the Tashkent Institute of Railway Transport Engineers.

In 1958, Associate Professor B. M. Zlatkovskiy, was assigned by the government to lecture at the Shanghai Institute of Transport Engineers (China).

In 1934, the department was headed by the teacher M. I. Andrianovskшy and was named “Stations and Junctions”. In later years, the department was headed by: Assoc. Prof. V. T. Kipteliy (1935), PhD in Sci. Eng. , Assoc. Prof. O. M. Dolaberidze (1936-1974; professor since 1953), PhD in Sci. Eng., Assoc. Prof. O. P. Shipulin (1974-1984), PhD in Sci. Eng., Assoc. Prof. Ye. V. Nagorny (1984-2000; Professor since 1994), PhD in Sci. Eng., Assoc. Prof. I. V. Berestov (2000-2012). Since 2012, the department has been headed by Dr. Sci. Eng., Professor O. M. Ohar.

In 1995, the Department of Stations and Junctions was merged with the Department of Freight and Commercial Management under the name “Stations and Junctions, Freight and Commercial Management”. In 2000, the separated department got the name “Railway Stations, Junctions and Organization of Customs Control”. In 2004, the department “Railway Stations and Junctions” was named after Prof. O. M. Dolaberidze.


O. M. Dolaberidze

In 1935, he defended his PhD thesis “Study of the main resistance of cars rolling down the gravity hump” under the supervision of the academy member V. M. Obraztsov. In August 1935, he was transferred to Kharkiv and appointed the head of the Department “Stations and Junctions, Signalling, Centralization and Blocking; Communications”. In 1947 O. M. Dolaberidze, for the first time in the USSR, created a scientific and experimental facility at Osnova station, which became the basis for creating and implementing latest developments related to improving the technology and technical equipment of marshalling yards. O. M. Dolaberidze was born on December 12, 1907 in the village of Maglaks, Kutaisi province. In 1926, he finished school with a gold medal and was admitted to the Polytechnic Department of the Tbilisi University, and in 1930 to the Leningrad Institute of Railway Transport Engineers at the Operational Faculty. in 1932, O. M. Dolaberidze graduated from the Institute with honors and was admitted to postgraduate studies.

In 1953, O. M. Dolaberidze received the degree of Doctor of Engineering Sciences, as he defended his thesis “Theory of design of mechanized humps”, and in 1955 he was awarded the academic title of Professor. Scientists from many countries of the world became interested in the works and inventions of the researcher. Since 1958, delegations of scientists from Germany, Japan, China, and Czechoslovakia have come to the Kharkiv Institute of Railway Transport Engineers. Abroad, analogues of the professor’s inventions began to appear at the largest marshalling yards in Germany, Sweden, Switzerland, France, the USA, etc.

  1. M. Dolaberidze is the author of more than 50 scientific papers, in particular, the textbook ”Automation of Marshalling Yards”. He was awarded the orders “Badge of Honor” and “Red Banner of Labor”, the badge “Honorary Railway Worker”, medals “For Labor Distinction”, “For Valiant Labor in the Great Patriotic War” and other distinctions.

The outstanding graduates of the Department in different years include M. R. Yushchenko (former Rector of Dnipropetrosvsk Institute of Railway Engineers), G. M. Kirpa (former minister of transport and communications of Ukraine), O. M. Kryuchkov (former head of the Donetsk Railway), M. I. Lukhanin (deputy general director of Ukrzaliznytsia), O. V. Bavyk (deputy head of the South-Eastern Railway (Russia), Yu. A. Mukha (professor in the Department of Stations and Junctions of the Dnipropetrovsk Institute of Railway Transport Engineers).


        Staff of the Department. From left to right: first row: assoc. prof. H. V. Shapoval, senior lecturer             H. I. Shelekhan, head of the department, Prof. O. M. Ohar, senior lecturer O. S. Pestremenko-Skripka, lead eng. T. T. Berestova, senor lab. assistant T. V. Murygina; second row: assoc. prof. M. Yu. Kutsenko, assoc. prof. I. V. Berestov, assoc. prof. V. V. Kuleshov